George Russell wins Autosport’s 2022 Moment of the Year Award!

© LAT Images for Mercedes-Benz Grand Prix Ltd

George Russell has won Autosport’s 2022 Moment of the Year Award for his first career win at the Sao Paulo Grand Prix.

Autosport has chosen George Russell’s first career win at the Sao Paulo Grand Prix as the the 2022 Moment of the Year.

At Interlagos Russell won both the sprint race and the main race, and brought Mercedes its first win of 2022, after the team struggled with the troubled W13 for most of the season.

Russell’s moment beat out Verstappen breaking the season-wins record in Mexico, Ross Chastain riding the wall at the NASCAR Cup race in Martinsville and Nyck de Vries scoring points on his Formula 1 debut at Monza.

The award was presented to Russell on December 4 at the Autosport Awards at Grosvenor House on Park Lane.

If you like SilverArrows.Net, consider supporting us by buying us a coffee!

While accepting the award, George gave his thoughts on his breakthrough moment.

“It was an incredible moment for me personally, the journey that the team had been on in that season,” George said.

“We had the golden opportunity in the Brazilian Grand Prix. The race was pretty under control and the safety car came out.

“I saw Lewis behind me and I thought this is not going to be straightforward!” Russell concluded.

Follow us on Twitter @SilverArrowsNet and like us on Facebook!

Comments are closed.