Lewis Hamilton elected European Sportsperson of the Year

© LAT Images for Mercedes-Benz Grand Prix Ltd

Lewis Hamilton has been elected European Sportsperson of the Year, based on votes from European press agencies.

This is the second time Hamilton took the honor, the first time being in 2014 when he won his second Formula 1 championship. The European Sportsperson of the Year honor has been awarded since 1958. The winner is determined by a vote from 27 European press agencies.

This year Hamilton beat second-placed Rafael Nadal by 11 points, himself a tennis great and a World Number 1 in the ATP ranking. Then follow Austrian skier Marcel Hirscher and Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic.

This is undoubtedly a nice addition to Hamilton’s already impressive collection of accolades won for his amazing performance in the 2019 Formula 1 season, in which he secured his sixth Drivers’ Championship.

Follow us on Twitter @SilverArrowsNet and like us on Facebook!

Comments are closed.