Mercedes and Nyck de Vries win both Formula E championships!

© Daimler AG

Mercedes F1 reserve driver Nyck de Vries has become the first FIA recognized Formula E World Champion, while Mercedes won the Teams’ Championship.

Nyck de Vries won his first Formula E title in the season finale in Berlin. 14 drivers went into the race with a chance to win the champioship, but de Vries ultimately came out on top in a dramatic race.

De Vries finished in P8, which was enough for him to secure the title. The race was won by Former F2 driver Norman Nato.

Mercedes has also won their first Teams’ Championship title, in only their second season in Formula E. There are reports all over the media that Mercedes will be pulling out of the series before the next gen cars are introduced for the 2021/2022 season, but we cannot confirm this.

After winning the title an emotional De Vries said talked to the press.

If you like SilverArrows.Net, consider supporting us by buying us a coffee!

“That was a hell of a ride,“ the Dutchman said.

“We’ve experienced so many highs and lows this year, and to finally clinch it in the last race – I think the fortune was on our side today with everything that happened.

“But as you saw, I was a bit of a target out there, with great pace, so I think we deserve this and I’m super happy for the team.”

Congratulations Nyck and the Mercedes-EQ Formula E Team on this amazing result, from SilverArrows.Net!

Follow us on Twitter @SilverArrowsNet and like us on Facebook!

Comments are closed.